Skip to content

Car Insurance Denies Claim in Richmond

Home » Personal Injury » Car Insurance Denies Claim in Richmond

If you are in a car accident that is another driver’s fault, you will need to file an insurance claim. Every driver in Virginia is required to carry car insurance. This is so that if someone is hurt, they can get compensation for their injuries. However, if you are injured, the insurance company may still deny your claim. 

The last thing you want to deal with is an insurance company. You just want to get your car fixed and the medical treatment that you need. You also want to be reimbursed for time missed at work. 

If the insurance company denies your car accident claim in Richmond, you want to call CAIL. They have experienced attorneys who have handled many insurance claims. The initial consultation is absolutely free.

Why the Insurance Company May Deny Your Claim

The other driver’s insurance company could deny your claim for several reasons. Here are just a few reasons why claims get denied:

  • The driver let the policy lapse or it was canceled for non-payment
  • The other driver may not be the policyholder
  • The insurance company doesn’t believe you are injured
  • The insurance company alleges you are at fault

Getting an insurance denial is frustrating. It is not something the average person knows how to handle. This is why it’s important to work with a Virginia car accident attorney. They will fight the insurance company to get you paid.

The insurance company doesn’t want to pay out claims. They often deny claims. Their hope is that you either back down or don’t know to get an attorney. They would rather take their chances. Their hope is that they save money on the claim and attorney fees.

What If the Other Driver is Uninsured

Virginia requires that all drivers carry a certain amount of car insurance. The limits required by Virginia law are:

  • Bodily injury – $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage – $20,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury – $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage – $20,000 per accident

You will see that Virginia specifically requires drivers to carry uninsured motorists’ coverage. This is because many drivers do not carry insurance. Sometimes this is intentional. Other times, it is because a driver doesn’t realize his policy has been canceled.

It may seem unfair that you have to pay for people who break the law. It isn’t fair. However, life isn’t fair. It is important that you have uninsured motorists’ coverage, though. If you are injured and the other driver either has no insurance or takes off, you need help. 

Your car accident lawyer in the city of Richmond will help you file your uninsured motorists’ claim. You need to get compensation for your injuries. You also deserve to have someone pay to get your car fixed. 

Important Inquiries That Will Help Your Case

Virginia car accident lawyers know the law. They know exactly what to do if your insurance claim is denied. There are a few things they will review. These include:

Why was the claim denied?

This will determine their plan of action. If the other driver’s policy was canceled, there is not much you can do. The insurance company is not required to pay claims out on a canceled policy. The same is true if the policy lapsed. 

A man speaking with an insurance company representative about his car accident.

Will an appeal help?

If you were denied for reasons other than cancellation, your attorney will appeal the claim. You only have a certain amount of time to do this. So, it is essential that you call a Richmond car accident lawyer immediately. 

Do you have proof of your injuries?

If the insurance company claims you weren’t hurt, your attorney will attempt to prove otherwise. As long as you have medical documentation to show you are hurt, you should be okay. You run into problems when you don’t seek medical attention. If you refuse treatment, there is no way for your personal injury attorney to prove you were harmed.

Did you refuse treatment initially and then seek it later?

If there was more than a day or two between the day of the accident and treatment, you could have problems. The insurance company will claim something else happened during that time. They will say this other incident caused your injuries. This will make it harder to settle your case.

Can you prove the accident caused the injuries?

The insurance company may claim the accident didn’t cause the injuries. This is common when you have a pre-existing condition. If you already had a bad back, it’s hard to prove the accident caused back pain. 

Have you filed claims before?

If you have filed many claims prior to the accident, the insurance company may deny you. They will argue that you are a lawsuit shopper. They will say you have a history of faking injuries to get insurance payouts.

Your attorney can challenge all of these reasons for denial. He will use your evidence. He will try to get the insurance company to settle. If they refuse, he will take it to court. 

Contact a Richmond Car Accident Lawyer

If you’re in a car accident, the other driver’s insurance company may deny your claim. If this happens, do not wait. Call an experienced Richmond car accident lawyer right away. The professionals at CAIL have decades of experience handling car accident cases. They will fight on your behalf. They will work hard to get the insurance company to approve your claim.

Insurance companies know that they may eventually have to pay your claim. The way they keep costs down is to deny, deny, deny. They deny a claim on what they argue is a legitimate basis, then make you file an appeal. They may even deny the appeal.

Insurance companies know that not everyone hires a lawyer. Some people think they can’t afford it or they are just scared. Don’t let this stop you. You can call for a free initial consultation and a Richmond car accident lawyer will let you know if you have a case. 

If you do retain a lawyer, you don’t pay upfront. In fact, you don’t pay anything until your case is won. Your attorney will take his fee out of your settlement. Therefore, never battle the insurance company alone. You can’t possibly win against their deep pockets. They have lawyers working for them. You need to have one working for you too!